Looking to travel to New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut soon? You may have to quarantine upon arrival after governors from all three states announced that travelers from states with increased coronavirus cases must isolate themselves for two weeks.
The travel advisory issued Wednesday will apply to states with a positive testing rate of 10 per 10,000 residents on a 7-day rolling average, or 10 percent positivity.
Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Utah, and Texas are among the states currently subjected to the advisory that went into effect at midnight.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo of New York, Gov. Phil Murphy or New Jersey, and Gov. Ned Lamont announced the travel advisory in a joint virtual meeting on Wednesday. Each state will be responsible for its own enforcement of the policy.
CBS2 reports that the states are relying on personal responsibility as they transition to aggressive public relations campaigns in travel centers like airports and roadways. However, no transit hubs are currently checking travelers’ IDs to ensure that they are complying.
The penalty for violating the advisory is steep. In New York, travelers can be fined up to 2,000 dollars for the first violation and up to 10,000 dollars if harm is caused.