House Democrat Leading Impeachment Efforts Against Trump Voted Against Certification In 2017

Brittany M. Hughes | January 13, 2021
Font Size

Maryland Rep. Jamie Raskin, a Democrat, is one of several congressmen who've been tapped by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi to head up the impeachment efforts against President Donald Trump, accusing the president of inciting violence in his refusal to accept the 2020 presidential election and demands that Congress vote against certifying the Electoral College votes.

"The president didn’t want to let go, and the fruit of his obsession with his big lie that he had actually won the election was this nightmarish assault on Congress,” Raskin said, adding, “The president has become a clear and present danger to the republic.”

There’s just one little problem: Raskin, who on Wednesday criticized Trump's demands for the Senate to reject Electoral College votes based on the allegation that they were invalid, did that very thing back in 2016 election.

In fact, Raskin voted objected to 11 out of Florida's 26 electoral votes cast in 2017 following the election of…Donald Trump.

Raskin was one of multiple House Democrats who objected to electoral votes from multiple states. CNN noted at the time that then-Vice President Joe Biden was interrupted 11 times while trying to count Trump’s 304 votes, including by some members who attempted to object to vote certification multiple times.

Raskin alleged at the time that the 11 electoral votes he was objecting to “ violated Florida’s prohibition against dual office holders,” despite admitting he didn’t get a single Senator’s legally necessary signature on his objection.

Other notable House Democrats who objected to Trump’s electoral votes included Washington Rep. Pramila Jayapal, California Rep. Barbara Lee, Texas Rep. Sheila Jackson-Lee, and California Rep. Maxine Waters, among others.